500 – 1485 (modern) 1066 – 1485 (traditional)

Mediaeval is the bridge between ‘antiquity’ and ‘modern’ and defines the Middle Ages.
Traditionally the ‘Dark Ages’ dated from c.500 – 1066 A.D. and Mediaeval from 1066 – 1485 A.D.. A more recent interpretation of this amazing period of time says that it runs from c.500- 1485 A.D. and includes Britons, Anglo-Saxons, Jutes, Vikings, Normans, and Plantagenets.

The period from 1066 to 1485 witnesses some remarkable changes. Castles, initially the ultimate defence, are neutralised by gunpowder and cannon. Fashion remains very similar, yet art and science see changes; trade routes with the East start to open up; religious crusades to the Holy Land result in changes in language, leisure and food.

Creative History Mediaeval topics focus on the period 1066 – 1485 A.D. (for c.500 – 1066 see the Anglo-Saxon and Viking pages).

Popular topics include:

  • Mediaeval life related to medicine, health, food, leisure time, clothing, beliefs, family roles, houses, religion, occupations, towns, entertainment, and law.
  • Life in Castle.
  • Designing my Mediaeval home.
  • Setting the table.
  • Famous people – Matilda (Maud) Bruce, Anna Warwick and Lady Foxley.

If you would like to know more about our Mediaevel characters have a look at Matilda or The Lady of the Keep.